• 12 Mar

    European Covenant of Mayors at the Urban Future Global Conference 2018

    38742037260 8586911261 z

    Thirty-one cities have signed the pre-commitment declaration to the European Covenant of Mayors (CoM) 2030 objectives, during the Urban Future Global Conference 2018 (UFGC) , held in Vienna from the 28th of February to the 2nd of March (full list of the cities at the bottom of the article).

    By signing the declaration, these cities expressed their intention to present the CoM 2030 commitments to their next municipal council meeting and to share their decision before the next UN Climate Change Conference (COP24) to be held in December 2018 in Katowice.

    The European Covenant hosted also a session entitled “Unlocking the energy and climate transition in cities: What role for leadership?” , involving mainly local politicians from Central and Eastern European cities.

    Pavel Adamowicz (Mayor of Gdansk) Ruska Buyadzhieva (deputy mayor of Covenant city Burgas) and Jaroslav Kacer (deputy mayor of Covenant signatory Brno) touched upon important themes like citizens engagement, multifunctional areas and integrated approaches for climate and energy, through the presentation of concrete examples from their cities. They underlined the key role played by politicians in leading the transition towards decarbonized and climate-proofed cities.

    In the keynote speech of the UFGC event, Gil Penalosa, founder of the non-profit organization 8 80 Cities and chair of the World Urban Parks, underlined the importance of a new human-centred approach to city planning, giving particular attention to vulnerable households and aiming at increasing citizens' health and quality of life. He underlined how a new “renaissance” of public space, linked with the diffusion of sustainable mobility, would make cities great places “where someone can sleep at home and live outside”.

    An full interview with Gil Penalosa will follow in the April issue of our newsletter!

    All photos from the UFGC conference in Vienna can be found on our Flickr page

    Below, the list of cities who committed to bring forward the CoM 2030 commitments during their next municipal council meeting:

    Aalborg Denmark
    Aschaffenburg Germany
    Asker Norway
    Banja Luka Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Brussels Belgium
    Budva Montenegro
    Burgas Bulgaria
    Dudelange Luxembourg
    Hørsholm Denmark
    Innsbruck Austria
    Istog Municipality   Kosovo
    Koprivnica Croatia
    Ljubljana Slovenia
    Ludwigsburg Germany
    Mostar Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Novo Mesto Slovenia
    Oslo Norway
    Porto Portugal
    Rijeka Croatia
    Rzeszow Poland
    Setubal Portugal
    Thessaloniki Greece
    Timisoara Romania
    Trier Germany
    Tübingen Germany
    Tuzla Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Uppsala Sweden
    Vienna Austria
    Warsaw Poland
    Zabrze Poland
    Zell am See Austria